Bollywood info

What is Bollywood anyway? To get to the bottom of this question, we have put together some Bollywood information here.

The film came to India very early on, initially only as a visit. In 1896, a silent film by the Lumière brothers was shown for the first time in a hotel in Bombay. In 1913 Dhundiraj Govid Phalke made the first Indian feature film “Raja Harishchandra”. Even then, the content was Indian epics, which stayed that way for a long time. This creates its own film language and from it the Bollywood genre.

Bollywood - an Indian economic factor

lotusladyThe name is derived from the actual location Bombay (today's Mumbai) and the great role model Hollywood. In the meantime, Indian film production has overtaken the American model. Between 900 and 1000 films are produced annually in India and are seen by 3.6 billion people worldwide. American productions reach a billion fewer people.

Typical for Bollywood films

An unmistakable indication of a Bollywood production are the strong emotionality of the representation and the inevitable happy ending or the tragic death of the actors. The successful producer Chopra sums it up: “In a three-hour film, the couple either have to die or get together. The audience should cry or laugh at the end. "

Gods in the movie

Like so much in India, Indian film is deeply rooted in Indian mythology and Indian dance history. The most common dance styles in film choreographies come from the Bharatnatyam, Kuchipudi, Kathakali or Kathak, which merge with the influences of Latin American dances, classical ballet, flamenco, musical dance and now hip-hop. The ideal landscape for myths is Kashmir as a combination of mountains and lake landscapes. It is currently impossible to shoot there, which is why the film teams like to move to the German or Swiss Alps. In the classic depictions of Krishna's love, the intimate relationship between the couple is illustrated by the ritual love game "leela". These playful variants replace realistic depictions of love. Couples used to not kiss in Bollywood films, but it has now become a trend. Bollywood has been becoming more and more modern in recent years.

New topics are discovered

In terms of content, the film industry has meanwhile broken away from pure portrayals of gods. The most important pioneer for this was probably the film "Kismet" from 1943. The heroine is the daughter of an impoverished theater owner who falls in love with a pickpocket. A strong motive of the stories arises here, which is decisive to this day - love with all its confusions. A few years later, in 1950, Meebob Khan directed the masterpiece “Mother India”, which was the first Indian film to receive an Oscar nomination. In this epic another motive of the Bollywood films crystallizes out - the love for home and the strength of the family. Over the decades, other topics came up: In the sixties it was about the unity of the country (the separation from Pakistan was complete). In the eighties there were many films in which the role of women changed. Instead of being exclusively wives and mothers, more and more professional and educated young women appeared on the screen. This was probably also due to the structural change in the audience, because Indian emigrants abroad were increasingly being opened up as audiences and wanted to find themselves in the films. This trend continued to grow and the stories “westernized”. A good example of this is Aditya Chopra's first film entitled “Dilwale Dulhana le Jayenge” (which, by the way, made superstar Sharukh Khan famous). Thus, the Bollywood films gained an increasingly important role as an element of identity for foreign Indians and the foreign markets became more and more interesting.

Bollywood is becoming international

In 2001 Bollywood caught up with the major non-Indian markets and pushed onto the international film market with the big-budget productions “Lagaan” and “Ashoka” (the latter premiered abroad for the first time). The success confirmed the investment, with the historical films the distribution channels were opened. In the meantime there are even considerations to limit the dance numbers and shorten the films for the international market. Now the superstars and big films are no longer unknown in Germany either. There has been a real trend around Bollywood - it is not for nothing that the TV station “Zee one” was established in Germany.

Courses & Events

Events may be canceled during the pandemic. If in doubt, please contact us at 0176-48688088 or via our contact form.

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday
29
30
1
3
  • 5:45 pmPilates basis
    Pilates
  • 7:15 pmPilates - All levels
    Ballett Workout
  • 8:30 pmBollyDance
2
4
  • 3:15 pmChildren's dance / ballet
    Kinder Tanz
  • 4:15 pmPilates
    Pilates
  • 6:45 pmBallet workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 7:45 pmPilates
    Pilates
3
1
  • 7:00 pmBollyDance Company Training
    BollyDance
4
3
  • 12:00 pmBallet workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 1:00 pmStretch
    Stretch
  • 2:30 pmVinyasa yoga
    Yoga
5
6
2
  • 7:30 pmBollyDance
  • 8:30 pmYoga basic
    Stretch
7
4
  • 3:30 pmChildren dance
  • 4:30 pmChildren's dance / ballet
  • 6:15 pmBallet workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 8:15 pmPilates
    Pilates
8
3
  • 5:45 pmPilates basis
    Pilates
  • 7:15 pmPilates - All levels
    Ballett Workout
  • 8:30 pmBollyDance
9
4
  • 3:15 pmChildren's dance / ballet
    Kinder Tanz
  • 4:15 pmPilates
    Pilates
  • 6:45 pmBallet workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 7:45 pmPilates
    Pilates
10
1
  • 7:00 pmBollyDance Company Training
    BollyDance
11
3
  • 12:00 pmBallet workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 1:00 pmStretch
    Stretch
  • 2:30 pmVinyasa yoga
    Yoga
12
13
2
  • 7:30 pmBollyDance
  • 8:30 pmYoga basic
    Stretch
14
4
  • 3:30 pmChildren dance
  • 4:30 pmChildren's dance / ballet
  • 6:15 pmBallet workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 8:15 pmPilates
    Pilates
15
3
  • 5:45 pmPilates basis
    Pilates
  • 7:15 pmPilates - All levels
    Ballett Workout
  • 8:30 pmBollyDance
16
4
  • 3:15 pmChildren's dance / ballet
    Kinder Tanz
  • 4:15 pmPilates
    Pilates
  • 6:45 pmBallet workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 7:45 pmPilates
    Pilates
17
1
  • 7:00 pmBollyDance Company Training
    BollyDance
18
3
  • 12:00 pmBallet workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 1:00 pmStretch
    Stretch
  • 2:30 pmVinyasa yoga
    Yoga
19
20
2
  • 7:30 pmBollyDance
  • 8:30 pmYoga basic
    Stretch
21
4
  • 3:30 pmChildren dance
  • 4:30 pmChildren's dance / ballet
  • 6:15 pmBallet workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 8:15 pmPilates
    Pilates
22
3
  • 5:45 pmPilates basis
    Pilates
  • 7:15 pmPilates - All levels
    Ballett Workout
  • 8:30 pmBollyDance
23
4
  • 3:15 pmChildren's dance / ballet
    Kinder Tanz
  • 4:15 pmPilates
    Pilates
  • 6:45 pmBallet workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 7:45 pmPilates
    Pilates
24
1
  • 7:00 pmBollyDance Company Training
    BollyDance
25
3
  • 12:00 pmBallet workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 1:00 pmStretch
    Stretch
  • 2:30 pmVinyasa yoga
    Yoga
26
27
2
  • 7:30 pmBollyDance
  • 8:30 pmYoga basic
    Stretch
28
4
  • 3:30 pmChildren dance
  • 4:30 pmChildren's dance / ballet
  • 6:15 pmBallet workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 8:15 pmPilates
    Pilates
29
3
  • 5:45 pmPilates basis
    Pilates
  • 7:15 pmPilates - All levels
    Ballett Workout
  • 8:30 pmBollyDance
30
4
  • 3:15 pmChildren's dance / ballet
    Kinder Tanz
  • 4:15 pmPilates
    Pilates
  • 6:45 pmBallet workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 7:45 pmPilates
    Pilates
31
1
  • 7:00 pmBollyDance Company Training
    BollyDance
1
2


BollyDance Workout DVD

Whole choreographies for Bollywood songs can be practiced at home in easily comprehensible individual sections. The holistic training brings you back into shape and takes you into Indian dream worlds.

[MORE]

Bollywood Night

Newsletter

Bollywood Infos

Was ist Bollywood eigentlich? Um dieser Frage auf den Grund zu gehen haben wir hier einige Bollywood Infos zusammengestellt.

Schon sehr früh kam der Film nach Indien, anfangs nur auf Besuch. 1896 wurde erstmals ein Stummfilm der Gebrüder Lumiére in einem Hotel in Bombay gezeigt. 1913 wurde dann der erste indische Spielfilm“ Raja Harishchandra“ von  Dhundiraj Govid Phalke gedreht. Schon damals waren die Inhalte indische Epen, was lange so blieb. So entwickelt sich eine eigene Filmsprache und daraus das Genre Bollywood.

Bollywood – ein indischer Wirtschaftsfaktor

lotusladyDer Name ist hergeleitet aus dem tatsächlichen Drehort Bombay (dem heutigen Mumbai) und dem großen Vorbild Hollywood. Inzwischen hat die indische Filmproduktion das amerikanische Vorbild überholt. Jährlich werden in Indien 900 bis 1000 Filme produziert, die weltweit von 3,6 Milliarden Menschen gesehen werden. Die amerikanischen Produktionen erreichen eine Milliarde Menschen weniger.

Typisch für Bollywoodfilme

Ein untrügliches Indiz für eine Bollywoodproduktion sind die starke Emotionalität der Darstellung und das unausweichliche Happy End bzw. der tragische Tod der Darsteller. Der Erfolgsproduzent Chopra fasst es so zusammen „In einem Film von drei Stunden muss das Paar entweder sterben oder zusammenkommen. Die Zuschauer sollen am Ende weinen oder lachen.“

Götter im Film

Wie so vieles in Indien ist auch der indische Film stark verwurzelt in der indischen Mythologie und der indischen Tanzgeschichte. Die häufigsten Tanzstile der Filmchoreografien stammen aus den Bharatnatyam, Kuchipudi, Kathakali oder Kathak, die mit den Einflüssen lateinamerikanischer Tänze, klassischem Ballett, Flamenco, Musicaltanz und inzwischen Hip-Hop verschmelzen. Die Ideallandschaft für Mythen ist Kashmir als Kombination von Bergen und Seenlandschaften. Derzeit ist es unmöglich dort zu drehen, deshalb weichen die Filmteams gerne in die deutschen oder Schweizer Alpen aus. In den klassischen Darstellungen von Krishnas Liebe wird die innige Beziehung des Paars durch das rituelle Liebesspiel „leela“ verdeutlicht. Diese spielerische Variante ersetzen realitätsnahe Liebesdarstellung. In Bollywoodfilmen küssten sich die Paare früher nicht, inzwischen ist es aber zum Trend geworden. Bollywood zeigt sich seit den letzten Jahren immer moderner.

Neue Themen werden entdeckt

Inhaltlich hat sich die Filmindustrie inzwischen von reinen Götterdarstellungen gelöst. Der wichtigste Wegbereiter dafür war wohl der Film „Kismet“ von 1943 . Die Heldin ist die Tochter eines verarmten Theaterbesitzers, die sich in einen Taschendieb verliebt. Hier ensteht ein starkes Motiv der Geschichten, das bis heute bestimmend ist – die Liebe mit all ihren Wirrungen. Einige Jahre später, 1950 entsteht unter der Regie Meebob Khans das Meisterwerk „Mother India“, das als erster indischer Film eine Oscarnominierung erhält.  In diesem Epos kristallisiert sich ein weiteres Motiv der Bollywoodfilme heraus – die Liebe zur Heimat und die Stärke der Familie. Durch die Jahrzehnte kamen noch weitere Themen dazu: In den sechziger Jahren ging es um die Einheit des Landes (die Trennung von Pakistan war vollzogen). In den Achtzigern gab es viele Filme in denen sich die Rolle der Frau veränderte. Statt ausschließlich Ehefrau und Mutter zu sein, tauchten immer mehr berufstätige und gebildete junge Frauen auf der Leinwand auf. Das hing wahrscheinlich auch mit der Strukturveränderung des Publikums zusammen, denn die indischen Auswanderer im Ausland wurden zunehmend als Publikum erschlossen und wollten sich in den Filmen wiederfinden. Dieser Trend nahm immer mehr zu und die Geschichten “verwestlichten”. Ein gutes Beispiel dafür ist der erste Film von Aditya Chopra mit dem Titel “Dilwale Dulhana le Jayenge” (mit diesem Film wurde übrigens der Superstar Sharukh Khan berühmt). Somit gewannen die Bollywoodfilme eine immer wichtigere Rolle als identitätsstiftendes Element für Auslandsinder und die Auslandsmärkte wurden immer interessanter.

Bollywood wird international

2001 holte Bollywood für die großen nicht indische Märkte aus und drängte mit den Big-Budget Produktionen “Lagaan” und “Ashoka” auf den internationalen Filmmarkt (wobei letzterer erstmals im Ausland uraufgeführt wurde). Der Erfolg bestätigte die Investition, mit den Historienfilmen wurden die Vertriebswege geöffnet. Inzwischen gibt es sogar Überlegungen, die Tanznummern zu limitieren und die Filme für den internationalen Markt zu kürzen. Jetzt sind die Superstars und großen Filme auch in Deutschland nicht mehr unbekannt. Es ist regelrecht ein Trend um Bollywood entstanden – nicht umsonst wurde der TV-Sender „Zee one“ in Deutschland etabliert.

Featured Image

Kurse & Events

Montag
Dienstag
Mittwoch
Donnerstag
Freitag
Samstag
Sonntag
29
30
31
1
4
  • 15:15Kinder Tanz/Ballett
    Kinder Tanz
  • 16:15Pilates
    Pilates
  • 18:45Ballett Workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 19:45Pilates
    Pilates
2
1
  • 19:00BollyDance Company Training
    BollyDance
3
3
  • 12:00Ballett Workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 13:00Stretch
    Stretch
  • 14:30Vinyasa Yoga
    Yoga
4
5
2
  • 19:30BollyDance
  • 20:30Yoga Basic
    Stretch
6
4
  • 15:30Kinder Tanz
  • 16:30Kinder Tanz/Ballett
  • 18:15Ballett Workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 20:15Pilates
    Pilates
7
3
  • 17:45Pilates Basis
    Pilates
  • 19:15Pilates – Alle Levels
    Ballett Workout
  • 20:30BollyDance
8
4
  • 15:15Kinder Tanz/Ballett
    Kinder Tanz
  • 16:15Pilates
    Pilates
  • 18:45Ballett Workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 19:45Pilates
    Pilates
9
1
  • 19:00BollyDance Company Training
    BollyDance
10
3
  • 12:00Ballett Workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 13:00Stretch
    Stretch
  • 14:30Vinyasa Yoga
    Yoga
11
12
2
  • 19:30BollyDance
  • 20:30Yoga Basic
    Stretch
13
4
  • 15:30Kinder Tanz
  • 16:30Kinder Tanz/Ballett
  • 18:15Ballett Workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 20:15Pilates
    Pilates
14
3
  • 17:45Pilates Basis
    Pilates
  • 19:15Pilates – Alle Levels
    Ballett Workout
  • 20:30BollyDance
15
4
  • 15:15Kinder Tanz/Ballett
    Kinder Tanz
  • 16:15Pilates
    Pilates
  • 18:45Ballett Workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 19:45Pilates
    Pilates
16
1
  • 19:00BollyDance Company Training
    BollyDance
17
3
  • 12:00Ballett Workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 13:00Stretch
    Stretch
  • 14:30Vinyasa Yoga
    Yoga
18
19
2
  • 19:30BollyDance
  • 20:30Yoga Basic
    Stretch
20
4
  • 15:30Kinder Tanz
  • 16:30Kinder Tanz/Ballett
  • 18:15Ballett Workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 20:15Pilates
    Pilates
21
3
  • 17:45Pilates Basis
    Pilates
  • 19:15Pilates – Alle Levels
    Ballett Workout
  • 20:30BollyDance
22
4
  • 15:15Kinder Tanz/Ballett
    Kinder Tanz
  • 16:15Pilates
    Pilates
  • 18:45Ballett Workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 19:45Pilates
    Pilates
23
1
  • 19:00BollyDance Company Training
    BollyDance
24
3
  • 12:00Ballett Workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 13:00Stretch
    Stretch
  • 14:30Vinyasa Yoga
    Yoga
25
26
2
  • 19:30BollyDance
  • 20:30Yoga Basic
    Stretch
27
4
  • 15:30Kinder Tanz
  • 16:30Kinder Tanz/Ballett
  • 18:15Ballett Workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 20:15Pilates
    Pilates
28
3
  • 17:45Pilates Basis
    Pilates
  • 19:15Pilates – Alle Levels
    Ballett Workout
  • 20:30BollyDance
29
4
  • 15:15Kinder Tanz/Ballett
    Kinder Tanz
  • 16:15Pilates
    Pilates
  • 18:45Ballett Workout
    Ballett Workout
  • 19:45Pilates
    Pilates
30
1
  • 19:00BollyDance Company Training
    BollyDance
1
2

Newsletter

Akademie

News



Bollywood Tanzausbildung

Unsere Trainerausbildungen sind vor allem für Trainer von Fitness- oder Tanzkursen gedacht, aber auch für die Tänzer.

[MEHR]


BollyDance Workout – DVD ab jetzt im Handel !

In gut nachvollziehbaren Einzelabschnitten lassen sich zu Hause ganze Choreografien zu Bollywood-Songs einüben. Das ganzheitliche Training bringt Sie wieder in Form und entführt Sie in indische Traumwelten.

[MEHR]